About District

Nestled in the Himalayan range, Nainital is a dazzling gem renowned for its picturesque natural beauty and diverse resources. With a collection of lakes, it has rightfully earned the title of “Lake District” in India, with Naini Lake being the most prominent one, surrounded by hills. The topography of Nainital is varied, encompassing important places such as Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Ramnagar, Bhowali, Ramgarh, Mukteshwar, Bhimtal, Sattal, and Naukuchiatal. The district is also home to the headquarters of Nainital District and serves as the divisional headquarters of Kumaon Division in the state of Uttarakhand. The scenic beauty of Nainital is boundless and leaves one in awe of the pristine beauty of Mother Nature.

The district of Nainital is situated in the Kumaon division of Uttarakhand. Almora district lies to its north while Udham Singh Nagar district borders it to the south. In the east, it is flanked by Champawat district, and in the west, Pauri Gahwal district lies. Its geographic coordinates are approximately between 78º51′11.34″ and 79º58’23.06″ east longitude and 28º58’31.84″ and 29º36’45.19″ north latitude. The district is characterized by the Himalayan ranges to the north and plains to the south, resulting in an enjoyable climate.

The total geographic area of the district is 4251 sq. km and is divided into two zones: Hilly and Bhabar. The hilly region is situated in the outer Himalayas and is referred to as Krol by geologists. The highest peak in the district is Baudhansthali, which is 2623 meters high and located near Binayak adjacent to Nainital town. The hilly region of the district is also known for its numerous lakes, including Bhimtal, Sattal, Naukuchiatal, Khurpatal, Nainital, Malwatal, Harishtal, Lokhamtal, among others.

The foothill area of the district is known as Bhabhar, named after the tall-growing grass that thrives in the region. The underground water level in this area is quite deep. The main river of the district is Kosi, which originates from Koshimool near Kausani and flows on the western side of the district. There are several smaller rivulets like Gaula, Bhakra, Dabka, Baur, among others, which have been dammed for irrigation purposes.

Tehsils (Block)

There are total Nine Tahsils in the District :-

  1. Nainital
  2. Haldwani
  3. Ramnagar
  4. Kaladhungi
  5. Lalkuwan
  6. Dhari
  7. Khanshyu
  8. Kosiyakutoli
  9. Betalghat